top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRosalind Hopes Reece

Counting My Blessings

Last week was a teacher's dream...being able to rest at home with family during Thanksgiving break after a strenuous first few months of school. I've learned that it's so easy to complain about the things I don't have rather than focus on the countless blessings I do have. As a result of my hard learned lesson, I've come to the conclusion that when I want to complain, I must force myself to consider how good I have it. When I look back over my life, there's no way I can honestly say that I haven't lived a life filled with numerous treasures...of love, family, friends, grace from God, career promotions and kudos, and dreams realized. How can I complain about anything when I'm still breathing, healthy, hopeful, and protected? So...I plan on giving thanks when I want to grumble (yes, it'll be difficult for awhile). I plan on letting go of people who are unkind and vindictive by praying for them when I want to scream at them or when I want to get revenge. After all, I only hurt myself when I hold grudges and internalize all the negative around me. I will do what God says..."do not repay anyone evil for evil" (Romans 12:17). I will also, "Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever" (I Chronicles 16:34). How about you? What is something you are thankful for? If you had to pick the top five things, what would they be?

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Roaring Like a Lion

The unexpected can bring delight to the soul. That's what I feel today as I enjoy this "inclement weather" day in Dallas. Who would've thought the weather would change so rapidly from 80 degree temp

A New Beginning

It's been awhile since I've posted a blog, almost a year to be exact. It's amazing how time flies. Gretchen Rubin once said, "The days are long but the years are short." That is so true. The schoo

bottom of page