top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRosalind Hopes Reece

How Am I Supposed To Treat My Husband?

Proverbs 31:12: "She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life."

Sometimes the answers to our questions are quite simple. I've heard women slandering their husbands in public and putting them down in front of others, while at the same time complaining about the lack of love their husbands show them. I then can't help but wonder why these women don't understand that all of us reap what we sow....what goes around comes around. Lots of times as wives we want our husbands to be the first to do something, like say they're sorry or offer to wash the dishes without us having to ask, but that just might not happen when we want it to. So, we shouldn't waste precious time holding grudges about what we perceive to be our husbands' apparent lack of love or concern for us. Many times, our husbands don't have a clue about what we're feeling, so we have to just tell them and be straightforward. I don't mean to nag them, because the Bible clearly speaks against that (Proverbs 21:9: "Better to live on a corner of the roof than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.") Yet, we need to set aside a good time, without the children around, to quietly discuss issues that are bothering us. We need to make sure we speak to our husbands in respectful tones, without all the attitude. We've got to remember the verse above, that reminds us that we're to bring our husbands good and not harm. Think about it...are we harming our husbands when we speak to them disrespectfully? Are we harming our husbands when we huff and puff around the house, pouting because we don't get our way? Our we harming our husbands when we accuse them of doing something they didn't do? I think so. I encourage you (and myself) to sum up how we're supposed to treat our husbands with these words: "I am to bring him good, not harm, all the days of my life." There...that's what God says about the matter, so I'll leave it at that.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Counting My Blessings

Last week was a teacher's dream...being able to rest at home with family during Thanksgiving break after a strenuous first few months of school. I've learned that it's so easy to complain about the t

Roaring Like a Lion

The unexpected can bring delight to the soul. That's what I feel today as I enjoy this "inclement weather" day in Dallas. Who would've thought the weather would change so rapidly from 80 degree temp

© 2023 by Sunshine Lab. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page